WORKS

Monumental

“Monumental” is a very relative term, and a question of perception.
The sculptures classified as such in the work of Nathalie Decoster begin at around 1m50 without any height limit.


The largest size she has produced for the time being is a piece that measures 9 meters by 5 meters, however her collaboration with engineering and design firms always pushes the limits further, especially since she already thinks on the scale of cities.
Although Nathalie works in smaller “indoor” sizes, she likes to combine her philosophical sculptures with nature, either mastered or just glimpsed around the bend of a grove, like a surprise, with background elements like the sea, the snow-covered mountain, etc.
On the other hand, as she did for the lobby of the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Paris (for example), she finds it interesting to reflect in large-scale interior locations or that have a more urban exterior, very early on in projects, or like the cherry that is placed atop the cake to add a little magic (the artist’s role, she says…)

© 2020 NATHALIE DECOSTER

Legal mentions

MENU

Les sculptures classifiées comme telles dans le travail de Nathalie Decoster commencent à 1m50 environ sans limite de hauteur.

Le plus grand format qu’elle a réalisé pour l’instant est une pièce de 9 mètres par 5 mètres, mais sa collaboration avec  des cabinets d’études pousse toujours les limites plus loin, surtout qu’elle réfléchit déjà à l’échelle de villes.

Bien que Nathalie travaille dans des formats plus petits « indoor », elle aime associer ses sculptures philosophiques à la nature, aussi bien maîtrisée, que au détour d’un bosquet, comme une surprise, avec des jeux de second plan comme la mer, la montagne enneigée etc.

Par ailleurs, comme elle l’a fait pour le lobby de l’hôtel Mandarin Oriental  à Paris (par exemple), elle trouve intéressant de réfléchir  dans des lieux intérieurs de grandes tailles ou plus urbains en extérieur, très en amont des projets , ou comme la cerise que l’on pose sur le gâteau pour apporter de la magie (le rôle d’un artiste dit elle…)

© 2020 NATHALIE DECOSTER

Mentions Légales